Thank you DL …

It is supposed to be a long post of gratitude to Angelina Popova for teaching Digital Literacy course in Fall 2015 and it is [but also it might look as promotional material].

I learned a lot of new things and would like to share with you the major things:

  1. Do you know how Google thinks? I do and if you take Digital Literacy course you would also know. Google is looking for google’s index of the web. “Little spiders” look at one website, then follow external links on this side, then further and further. They can run billions of pages. How does Google decide which documents you need? It depends on the frequency of search words’ occurrence, their synonyms, qualification of the website, periodicity of external links leading on this website, a position of search words: title, URL, text. How long does it take? Half a second! Thank you, Mike, from Google team, who explained everything very clearly in this video. After watching, I understand the logic of Google and now I ask the right(active) keywords. I save my time – I do not need to open every link on the first page,  I can distinguish the only one I need by Title, URL, and part of a text. I told you only about the easiest hints, but if I start talking about Advance Search of Google, it would take hours. I can bet you never used Google properly. Sign for Digital Literacy class, save time, and nerves on search.
  2. LIBRARY.AUCA.KG Oooohhhh, this is the biggest depository of academic articles, papers, books. But we, AUCA students, unfortunately, do not use it. Terrible, stupid mistake. So much we lose. We rely on discussible forums, opinion papers, blogs but miss academic approach on the issue. Library site works as Google. Choose comprehensive search, play around with filters (source type, issue date, language [yes, there is not only English, but also German, Spanish, and French])
  3. Copyright. (c)All Rights Reserved. I am sure all of us saw this title at least once but never pay attention and moreover tribute. We, irresponsible citizens of third countries, happily use torrents and pirate website, freely download certified files: music, films, applications, and software.Because of us, they [music bands, film teams, developers] do not get money as much as they could. But on the other side, we make them work harder and piece that part out. Learn copyright policy of YouTube before uploading content you do not own.
  4. Cookies. Oh, finally I found those invisible little spies which transmit my personal information to third parties. Yes, sometimes it helps, I do not need always tell engine: “I want this, I want that”, it would know about my choice prior you come to their website. But at the same time, it is a bit fearfully that something/someone owns information about me. Do you wonder what Facebook does, check out how it makes money on our information.
  5. After the class on a topic of Digital Identity, I mused on information which shows up about me on the internet and I immediately run to my Facebook page either to change setting who can see my information or simply delete the old and stupid one. Tip: Follow not only your friends but also yourself. And try to google yourself! You would be surprised! CHECK OUT 11 TIPS FOR STUDENTS TO MANAGE THEIR DIGITAL FOOTPRINTS

The Final Thank you
for being forced to create this blog post.

AnA

Leave a Reply

